Message from the Scientific Chair

Dear colleagues,


The University of the East Ramon Magsaysay Memorial Medical Center Section of Urology is celebrating its 50th Foundation Year.  For this year, we organized an exceptional postgraduate meeting entitled, “Percutaneous and Endoscopic Renal surgery Course (aptly referred to as the PERC.)  This has as its main course objective, that of helping both the aspiring and the seasoned endourologist to understand the current trends to renal calculi such as percutaneous nephrolithotomy (PCNL), and retrograde intrarenal surgery (RIRS).

The recent decade has seen a rapid revolution in these endoscopic approaches including a combined antegrade and retrograde endoscopy (ECIRS), a more popular application of the supine position and a shift from the traditional fluoroscopically-guided percutaneous access to that which is done exclusively with an ultrasonogram.   Their usage in varying stone configurations such as staghorn, trapped caliceal or diverticular stones will be discussed extensively in didactics and in a debate forum designed to help the urologist choose the most appropriate procedure of choice.

The highlight of the meeting includes a TIPS and TRICKS discussion by the experts on how they perform their surgery and circumvent obstacles in unusually challenging situations. We have included Mahesh Desai from India who is a world-renown endourologist who has performed thousands of PCNLs and ureteroscopic procedures, and is a founding member of the Endourological Society.  Together with him is Olivier Traxer, the Immediate Past President of the World Congress of Endourology meeting in 2018, who is an astute urologist who specializes in retrograde intrarenal surgery.  They are joined in by Abdul Rana, who holds the distinction of having introduced the supine PCNL in the Asia Pacific region and has performed almost a thousand of such procedures.  With their supervision and guidance, we hope the participants will bring home pearls that they can use to improve theif clinical practice.

Congratulations to the participants and more power to all of you.



Jose Benito A. Abraham, MD, FPCS, FPUA
Scientific Chair
PERC 2019